Posted 8/24/2023

The Tennessee Cattlemen’s Association and Tennessee CattleWomen’s Association awarded four educational scholarships for the 2023-2024 academic year.

These scholarships are awarded on an application basis. The application includes 4-H and FFA involvement, a letter of reference from a teacher or industry leader, and an essay. Applicants must also be a member of the Tennessee Cattlemen’s Youth Association or their parent/grandparent must be a member of The Tennessee Cattlemen’s Association.

One of the four recipients has local ties, Ben Mayfield of Pulaski was the recipient of the Joe Houston Memorial Scholarship. Mayfield will be a senior at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville where he is majoring in animal science with a focus in agricultural business and economics.